top of page

Final Thoughts

Rationale:

I do not just look at Byju’s as simply a profitable business, there’s a lot of potential for growth and opportunities taking Byju’s beyond India and into the global EdTech market. After downloading and trying the app, I was impressed and felt that Byju's model could be copied to other countries for self-learning in many other areas. Teachers are learners while learners can be teachers. In the future, connecting teachers with all other areas of expertise across the globe with over seven hundred million K-12 students in an all-in-one platform would be a revolutionary way to “reinvent” learning in the 21st century, as Byju's founder Raveendran suggested. This EVA process made me realize that having a strong team and good investment partners who passionately shared your ideology and interests is very crucial for the success of any start-up company because they affect the brand and business in a big way. Although there are a lot of young emerging start-up companies in the industry, Raveendran was able to team up with the right partners to work with, and making the business highly competitive.

Reflection:

Time management:

Research could be highly time-consuming; the research time spent investigating on this particular company took up most of the time as I was working on the report. I realized that the time could be managed better and distributed more evenly. I would have arranged more time towards working on a better flow as well as deliberating over the use of tone and language as I wrote my report.

Choice of media:

I decided a website would be a great way to present my EVA because it allows me to incorporate various different multimedia elements into my presentation. So I decided on the choice of media from the start. The only debate was between Wix and Weebly. I've had experience with both of them before and found that Wix had far more designed templates than Weebly and a good mobile editor to customize visitors’ mobile experience, which Weebly lacked. Wix enabled me to build better looking and engaging website due to its variety of design templates and extensive tools. The only drawback of using Wix was that it was considerably slower and had less flexibility when I wanted to change the design template. The compounded effect of these two factors and the volume of the contents led to extra work time when I had to make changes. The design also resulted in a slower website loading speed, which directly impacted the user experience of my visitors.

Both of these two factors will be considered carefully when I plan for my next assignment. I will make sure I make thorough assessment of the project in terms of time management beforehand, plan and prioritise meticulously during the process. Secondly, I learnt that user experience requires having a deep understanding of users, especially of what they need, what they value. So it’s far beyond just a fancy design. A better practice of user experience promotes improving the quality of the user’s interaction with the website, which includes the user experience of website loading time. I found the User Experience Honeycomb diagram developed by Peter Morville a useful guide.

Reference:

Morville, P. (2016). Experience Honeycomb diagram. Semantic Studios. Retrieved from: http://semanticstudios.com/user_experience_design/

bottom of page